standing at the back in my sissy robe

June 11, 2009

Waiting for Endgame

Filed under: D'oh — Tamarind @ 2:11 pm

M’pocket tank and I were questing through Northrend the other night, which truthfully I’m not enjoying as much as I should be.  Don’t get me wrong, the scenery is pretty, there are sharks and some of the quests are really rather fun (defiling the corpses of vikings, oh yes, removing dorf brains, oh yes yes yes!  Ahem.  Enough of my hobbies) but I have End Game looming over me like a looming loomy thing and every instance I’ve attempted has been if not an unmitigated disaster at least mildly annoying, so my enthusiasm is flagging.

The problem is when you’re halfway to End Game, there’s an inescapable feeling that anything you’re doing is irreverent.  It’s basically like Waiting for Godot (except I presume End Game is, in fact, going to hove into view over the horizon at some point in the next month or so) in that the whole act of playing the game is subsumed into the act of Getting To End Game.  Yes, you could grind rep, yes you could work on your trade skills, yes you could do a bit of auctioneering, yes you could do any or all of these things (and eat carrots, or pass around bowler hats) but they’d all be better if you were 80.

Actually, while I’m on an analogy spree, End Game is like a small child on a long car journey, constantly kicking the back of my seat and asking “are we nearly there.”

No, we’re not.  And shut the fuck up, you little brat.  I’m trying to enjoy the drive.

Anyway….

While taking down the Scarlet Onslaught (another WoW pleasure, I don’t know what it is that makes those guys such fun to massacre) we had a moment of D’oh that continues to amuse me because there’s something delightfully universal about it.  I suspect something like this must have happened to everyone at some point.   I think it’s on par with it: “let’s be careful with this pull guys … oh shit, numlock! [wipe]”

M’pocket tank and I play together a lot (we rule the galaxy as healer and tank!) so we know each other pretty well, and this means we play rather riskily much of the time, chain pulling like maniacs and generally pushing our luck.  The Scarlet Onslaught obligingly come at you in death-eager droves but, for some reason, M’pocket Tank was having a hard time holding aggro and was taking more damage than usual.  The sequence of events that followed went something like this:

Me (suspiciously): Have you decided to be made of cheese today?

MPT: I don’t know what’s going wrong.

Me: Maybe these guys are just really hardcore. They are fanatics after all.

MPT: This should be fine, I’ve done these quests before.

Me: Let’s go more carefully, just in case.

Some time later…

Me: Doesn’t seem to be helping.  Are we the wrong level? Are we playing like idiots?

MPT: Wah!  I don’t know what’s wrong!  I’ve lost my tanking mojo, my tanking groove, the rhythm by which I tank, we can no longer rule the galaxy as healer and tank.

Me: …

MPT: Oh.

Me: What?

MPT: Ah.

Me: What?!

MPT: I get it now.

Me: What?!!

MPT: My shield is broken.

6 Comments »

  1. There are some fantastic quest chains that you are just on the cusp of, that you *really* shouldn’t miss!

    While I certainly do understand your desire to hit 80, there are some things before 80 that you can look forward to, that are just exceptionally well done by Blizzard and well worth your effort.

    If you are in Dragonblight (sounds like you are?) you should be coming up on the The Wrathgate questline very, very soon. DO NOT LEAVE DRAGONBLIGHT without doing it! Seriously. Best quest in the game =) If you don’t have it and are out of quests, you might have missed a drop quest. WoWHead the chain before you leave the zone to find where to nab it.

    Also, Grizzly hills has a really great (albeit long) chain that will take you into Drak’Tharon keep…this is also well worth the effort.

    And then my last suggestion: Zul’Drak. The phasing quest chains here are fantastic. However, my advice is to do Grizzly Hills first. I won’t say why, I don’t wanna spoil it! Just trust me 😉 Even if you are 80 before you get to ZD, it’s still worth it to do the quests for the experience.

    Anyhow…I guess what I’m trying to say is that there is some really cool stuff to look forward to before the big “80”. Honestly, those that I have mentioned are some of my favorite experiences in WotLK to date.

    So, do take the time to, uh…stop and smell the wrathgate and run fast with trolls!

    Comment by Beruthiel — June 11, 2009 @ 4:42 pm | Reply

    • Actually I don’t particularly *want* to get to endgame, I just feel that everyone around me and all the rest of the game is pressuring me to get there as quickly as possible. I tend to play WoW in a very ‘inefficient’ way, which I think must have been inherited from my very first character He was a cow druid who looked at his happiest dangling his cowfeet in the water and picnicing. I play WoW in fits and starts anyway, but I have a bad habit of stalling just as endgame looms.

      Probably what I should do is wait for the next expansion and then enjoy Northrend in peace and at my own pace 😉

      I would, of course, not miss Wrathgate for anything. But I’ll take your advice and head towards Grizzly Hills next.

      Comment by Tamarind — June 11, 2009 @ 5:18 pm | Reply

  2. Gotta second what Beruthiel says. A few aspects of questing in Grizzly Hills bugged me, but I loved the storylines that tied into events in other zones (particularly ZD and Storm Peaks). “Endgame” (at least the PvE version) comes straight from some of these questlines (trying to be vague so as not to spoil it).

    Comment by Kahleena — June 12, 2009 @ 4:59 am | Reply

    • (hope you don’t mind I edited your post to say your name, don’t get me wrong this site could do with some admin but I thought you’d prefer to be you)

      Truthfully, I don’t mind spoilers in the slightest. As much as I love it, I am not playing WoW for the plot, nor is it a murder mystery (the Lich King dun it!)

      We’re going to do Dragonblight because it’s pretty much Required Reading and then it’s onto Grizzly Hills, I think, since everyone is so enthusiastic.

      I’m not really being grumpy about Northrend (well I am…); it’s just there is quite a lot of, I think, untentional pressure to get a move on while you’re there.

      Comment by Tamarind — June 12, 2009 @ 9:41 am | Reply

  3. In my defence, I’d like to say that my sheild broke because we’d pulled almost all of New Hearthglen so I was doing quite a lot of blocking.

    Comment by Temitope — June 12, 2009 @ 9:03 am | Reply

    • Yes, dear, your shield broke because you are just that AWESOME at tanking…

      Comment by Tamarind — June 12, 2009 @ 9:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

